Confidence Games

Am I good at what I do? At the end of the day I always think I could have done something better. This drives me to be even better the next time.

Yesterday some ladies and I had a Meena Bazar for charity. I was in charge of the stall for handicrafts where several ladies had put in a lot of hard work to display for sale beautifully hand crafted items. I had also prepared different things like cross stitched wall hanging, painted shirts for children, hand crafted hair accessories, decorative boxes etc.

The lady in charge of the whole proceedings was very kind to tell me that she had noticed that I put in a lot of effort in what I do. I agree with her.  When I accept an assignment I put in every effort to do it to the best of my ability.

And that is the reason why 4 years ago, I quit my job. Even though my employers had given me a few months to work from home following my maternity leave I found that I couldn’t do justice to my office work nor to my new duty as a mother. So rather than doing something half heartedly I decided to quit my job and concentrate on being a mother.

I soon found out that this new job was to be the toughest assignment I had ever handled!

There are so many factors that come into play when raising a child that it is easy to be overwhelmed.

I started comparing my child with others which put a big dent in my confidence. “That child is only a few months older than my son, why is he so much bigger?” “He ate up all his food and my son just nibbled on some bread, why is he like that?” I wish I would not forget that every child is different and as long as he is meeting his milestones there is nothing to worry.

As a mother what is the criteria for knowing how well I am doing? Is it how healthy my son is? Or how well behaved? Well he is only four so it’s a bit early to judge, but if I am able to give him all the tools he needs to be an effective member of society I think I would have succeeded.

Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me

  1. Confident | Relax
  2. Daily Prompt: Confident « Vicariously Poetic
  3. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | kimmiecode 🙂
  4. Momma Said There’d Be Days Like This
  5. Girl on fire | Braised Pork on Rice
  6. I have confidence… Daily Prompt | The Rider
  7. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Moments Thru Lens
  9. S. Thomas Summers | A Teacher’s Unusual Duties: Up, Up, and Away
  10. Daily Prompt : I Have Confident in Me | My Extraordinary Everyday Life
  11. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Awl and Scribe
  12. I Have Confidence in Me | Kansa Muse
  13. Believe in yourself | Kate Murray
  14. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | Everyday Adventures
  15. At What Should We Be Good? | The Jittery Goat
  16. Confidence | thinkerscap
  17. Are We Good At Blogging?
  18. ermahgerhd | and then i met this man
  19. Daily Prompt: Have Confidence in Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  20. Writing | Life is great
  21. Sunday Confessions | Cheri Speak
  22. On My Way, But Not There Yet . . . | meanderedwanderings
  23. Head Held High | Daily Prompt | Word Disorder
  24. I Have Confidence in Me | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real
  25. Daily Prompt; I have confidence in me! | sixty, single and surviving
  26. I Have Confidence in Me: Neo | Khana’s Web
  27. Daily Prompt: I Have Confidence in Me | lifebeinggirly
  28. Daily Prompt: Confidence Game | Morrighan’s Muse
  29. Inability to be political | Historiefortelling
  30. PowerPoint: Image Editor! | Nerdy Woman
  31. Petey’s Adventure Continues… | Haiku By Ku
7 thoughts on “Confidence Games

  1. My son turns four in two months and to be honest, I don’t have that much confidence in my role as a mom though I try the best I can. It’s so easy to fall in that trap of comparing our kids to others, much like the way my brothers and I were compared to others when we were younger. It’s a struggle but we do the best we can 🙂

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Have Confidence in Me | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Writing vs real people | viver para contar

  4. Pingback: At What Should We Be Good? | The Jittery Goat

  5. Pingback: Self confidence | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: Writing | Life is great

Leave a Reply

