Checkers

When I was a child I was a bit of an expert in checkers. I used to play with my dad and had learnt all the tricks. In checkers you have to play aggressively because it cannot be won by being defensive.

Towards the end of the game when you only have a few pieces left you can run into one of the corners and keep moving the piece from one square to the other. But there’s a way to flush out that piece from that corner. My dad taught me how to do it.

The best feeling is when you give up one of your pieces to capture two or three pieces of the opponent. Especially when they don’t see it coming.

Once we had one of our relatives over who saw me with my checkers board and challenged me to a game. Now I was a child and he was an adult and on the face of it, it wasn’t an equal match. Meaning he didn’t stand a chance.

After the devastation when his last piece was left which I was in a position to take, I looked at my dad as if to say “Should I do it?” After all he was a guest and it was only polite to ask. After getting a nod from my dad I finished off the game.

Fast forward to this year and I was on a flight with my family to Oman. My husband and I decided to check out the in-flight entertainment. The games included checkers as well. Unknowingly my husband challenged me to a game.

Needless to say the game lasted only a few minutes. It was total annihilation. Apparently I haven’t forgotten all the tricks. My dad would have been proud.

Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game

  1. Competition | Colline’s Blog
  2. Mah-Jongg: Drama in the home! | alienorajt
  3. Daily Prompt: Game | Chronicles of a Public Transit User
  4. Its All About The Game | Life Confusions
  5. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  6. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game « Mama Bear Musings
  7. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Dogs Playing Poker | Just Visiting This Planet
  9. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | Basically Beyond Basic
  10. Roll to Work Together: A Story About Dungeons and Dragons | Eyes Through The Glass – A Blog About Asperger’s
  11. A Game of Groans | Fruit Salad
  12. Bluff | Barefoot on Rainy Days
  13. Your Turn | The Elephant Under The Chair
  14. What if we played a game? | Okay, what if ?
  15. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | lifebeinggirly
  16. The players are lined up. | The Land Slide Photography
  17. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | BulgingButtons
  18. Vicious | Momma Roars
  19. Scrabble To Play | Flowers and Breezes
  20. Poker Face | Charron’s Chatter
  21. Unspoken Words | melanielynngriffin
  22. Resilience | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  23. It’s only a game | tjbarkerseattle
  24. Competition| The Most Dangerous Game | Words from the heart
  25. The Perfect Game | Kate Murray
  26. Daily Prompt; The Perfect Game | terry1954
  27. Cruel Games | vicbriggs’s blog
  28. The perfect game | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  29. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Competition (Photos)
  30. What? It’s Not Like I Said ‘Let Them Eat Brussel Sprouts!’ | Catching A Scent of Salt…
  31. Daily Prompt: Polo Competition | phoenixtatgirl
  32. What’s The Perfect Game? | 365 Days of Thank You
  33. Battle Bra Royale | Wiley’s Wisdom
  34. Winning! (while reading this title, visualise American actor Charlie Sheen) | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
  35. How To Win At Scrabble | Edward Hotspur
  36. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | IMHO
  37. Daily Prompt Challenge ~ Competition | soletusknow
  38. Check. — You will be yelled at. | mommyverbs
  39. The UnGame | Chasing Rabbit Holes
  40. Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | Nola Roots, Texas Heart
  41. The Writing Post [Weekly Edition 001] | The Eremitic World
  42. The Perfect Game | standinginthestorm
8 thoughts on “Checkers

  1. Pingback: AMISH COMPETITION | Kansa Muse

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: The Thrill of Competition | Eyes to Heart

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Perfect Game | BulgingButtons

  5. Pingback: The perfect game | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  6. Pingback: How To Win At Scrabble | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

