Branches of a tree

My mentor is my older sister. She is a doctor and has seen life and death from up close. I know I can trust her to always give me an honest opinion and good advice.

When I wrote my first (and only) children’s book I first sent it to her to read. I couldn’t send it out for publishing until it had her approval. She thought it was good and really liked the illustrations. It was only after this that I went ahead with the process of publishing. She is a good writer herself and writes from the heart. Most of her writing is motivated by her experiences as a doctor and several of her stories have been published in newspapers.

When I was choosing my subjects for college she advised me not to take Pre-Medical as would have been the temptation considering that both my older siblings were in that field. I think she saw very wisely that I did not have the aptitude for it. And so I took Maths instead and went on to do my Masters in Electronics and work in a telecom multinational for 10 years. I really owe it to my sister for giving me correct advice at the right time.

My sister has two healthy intelligent and thoughtful boys and she is doing a wonderful job at raising them. So it’s no wonder that I often ask her for her opinion when I am facing a problem with my son. I am usually very worried because of him being such a picky eater but my sister keeps telling me not to worry too much as it’s usually just a phase with children.

I’m really blessed that when I moved to Dubai my sister moved here as well with her family. Now we live less than 15 minutes away and I get to talk to her and see her frequently. Life would have been difficult without her.

“Like branches on a tree we grow in different directions yet our roots remain as one. Each of our lives will always be a special part of the other.” (Author Unknown)
  1. The Last Leaf | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Magic Carpet | Nature Activities
  3. Support | The Magic Black Book
  4. The Bed | Rural Tourism in Russia
  5. Daily Prompt: Cheering Section | Under the Monkey Tree
  6. A fisherman’s son | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  7. Living Without the Crack | JC Bride ~
  8. Support | Kate Murray
  9. sayanything
  10. cheering section | yi-ching lin photography
  11. Daily Prompt: Cheering Section | Awl and Scribe
  12. our mother stored | y
  13. True the grit | Beth Byrnes
  14. The Road to Regionals | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  15. NaNoWriMo! | Haiku By Ku
  16. My Cheerleader is a Basket Case | mostlytrueramblings
  17. 213. The Mentor | Barely Right of Center
  18. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: Cheering Section – Vinay Sir
  19. Daily Prompt: Cheering Section ~ NaBloPoMo ~ #6 « Mama Bear Musings
  20. THREE SOLUTIONS | crookedeyebrows
  21. It’s Never too Late for a Cheering Section … | Eyes to Heart
  22. André from Holland | Talking with Benjamin Franklin, Theodore Roosevelt and Jesus Christ
  23. Daily Prompt: Cheering Section | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  24. Let me tell you about Kate | The River Mom
  25. Battered and Down With Life as a Youth | Kansa Muse
  26. Mentors? | Fruit Salad
  27. I miss him | Life is great
  28. GREAT ARTIST = BAD MENTOR? | Standing Ovation, Seated
  29. Daily Prompt: Cheering Section | Basically Beyond Basic
  30. Cheering Section | The Nameless One
  31. This Way | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  32. Daily Prompt: Cheering Section | lifebeinggirly
  33. Pursuing My Dreams | amanda hardt
  34. That Time I Met That Chef | Running Into 30Running Into 30

8 thoughts on “Branches of a tree

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Cheering Section | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Grandfather | Historiefortelling

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt:Cheering Section | Motherhood and Beyond

  4. Pingback: Cheering section | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  5. “For there is no friend like a sister
    In calm or stormy weather;
    To cheer one on the tedious way,
    To fetch one if one goes astray,
    To lift one if one totters down,
    To strengthen whilst one stands.”

    Christina Rossetti.

Leave a Reply

