The 3 stages

My husband thinks I’m a big miser, but he should be happy right? I don’t go about splashing his hard earned money. I try to buy at sales and look for good deals. Maybe it’s because I used to have a job and I know what it’s like to work hard to earn something. Nah, that’s not it, I’m just a big miser.

So the problem that arises is that if I ever do indulge myself, and buy something expensive I become the biggest pain in the neck. I go through these three stages.

Stage 1: Doubt. Did I really need to buy it? Should I have bought another style, another color?

Stage 2: Guilt. Why did I spend so much money on it when it doesn’t even look that good?

Stage 3: Self Assurance. Maybe it is pretty nice and really worth it.

Stage 1 and Stage 2 involves bothering my husband with questions, trying on the new merchandise and asking him hundred times how it looks. Of course when he answers without looking I have to ask him again.. and again till he says in exasperation “It looks fine!”

“Fine is not good enough for what I’ve spent on it” I answer.

“It looks good, OK?”

“You said fine to start with”.

So what I really need to do is break this habit of mine, skip Stage 1 and Stage 2 and land directly at Stage 3. I should learn to enjoy an expensive pair of shoes or a new piece of jewelry without feeling guilty. After all every woman deserves it once in a while doesn’t she? And I guess after having made that purchase, my husband just wants to be left alone.

Daily Prompt: Breakdown

  1. Broken – I doubt before I believe | Now Have At It!
  2. The Needle Meeting | The Magic Black Book
  3. On Waiting…Again… | soletusknow
  4. Abusive relationships | alienorajt
  5. Pumpkins Gone Bad | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  6. Breaking The Daily Prompt Habit | The Jittery Goat
  7. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Breakdown (Things I’ve Failed to Notice #1)
  8. Daily Prompt Challenge ~ “Broken” | soletusknow
  9. Chatter – The story of two sides | Neva Samaki
  10. Breakdown | Life Confusions
  11. Daily post: Habits? What habits? | helen meikle’s scribblefest
  12. Waiting to break | crookedeyebrows
  13. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  14. That Breakdown | The Magic Black Book
  15. Beautifully Broken and all the things in between… | Passionate Dreaming
  16. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Awl and Scribe
  17. Not Enough Sleep | Flowers and Breezes
  18. Favorite Habit | Lost in Adeline’s
  19. Breakdown- More Pop Culture References | Blue Loft
  20. Bad habits? Got em. Do they matter? Not so sure. | RPMAS
  21. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Crow Arrow, Inc.
  22. Raccoons! | Haiku By Ku
  23. Daily Prompt: Hard Habit to Break | My Atheist Blog
  24. Rushing | maunderingsofaninja
  25. Broken | Better Than Reality
  26. Why fix what ain’t broke? | Liquorstore Bear
  27. Daily Prompt: Breakdown – BROKEN | Ord i Bild
  28. Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Thirty, Start, Go!
  29. #firstworldproblems: Crappy Shows and Inner Conflict | The Otter in my Jotter
  30. Daily Prompt: Break The Bad Habits | DeafGuy Blog
  31. Daily Prompt: OLD, BROKEN BUT NOT FORGOT | SERENDIPITY
  32. Breaking the Habit(s) | The life of T
  33. Funny you should ask. « Welcome to Forgotonia
  34. My Need For Clean Denied | momasteblog
  35. Breaking The Habit | The Nameless One
  36. Broken | nanopod: hybrid studio
  37. For the “broken” « Subh Dasgupta’s Blog

10 thoughts on “The 3 stages

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Hard Habit to Break | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  3. Pingback: Habit breaking | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Breakdown: Broken Down | Khana's Web

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Breakdown | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. Pingback: Rob's Surf Report

  7. Pingback: BECOMING | hastywords

Leave a Reply

