The Beauty in this world

 

20130728_175459

My most prized possession is a clay vase hand painted by my mother. She made this miniature painting of a woman with a sitar from a book of poems by Omar Khayyam. She painted it even before she got married in 1954. Being an army wife she took it with her in all her postings all over Pakistan. I am her youngest child and was born when she was 40 years old. When I got married and moved into my own home a few years later she gave it to me. Since then it has been displayed proudly in my home in Pakistan and now in Dubai.

This vase reminds me of the immense talents that my mother possessed as a young woman. Now her eyesight and age doesn’t allow her to do such fine work. She is staying with me these days and I tried to convince her to paint again. I remember her painting when I was a child but she stopped when her eyesight deteriorated. I think she also lost motivation when my father passed away.

The capabilities of us humans continue to amaze me. We can make such beautiful creations yet there are others in the world who only know how to destroy.  We all look the same yet are so different.

This vase will always remind me of my mother and the beauty in this world. For me it is priceless.

Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder

  1. Rural Tourism in Russia: Apples | Village & Countryside Tourism
  2. Sunlight on the other side | Village & Countryside Tourism
  3. Rural Tourism in Russia: Sunset | Village & Countryside Tourism
  4. Rainbow | Village & Countryside Tourism
  5. Even Falling Stones Flower « RPMAS
  6. How Good Music and Art Makes You Feel | The Jittery Goat
  7. Music | Cofundrum
  8. Marina Bay Sands- An epitome of elegance | Inception
  9. Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | Moments Thru Lens
  10. SoundEagle in Art, Aphorism and Paramusic | SoundEagle
  11. Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder by michelle w. on October 5, 2013 | Indira’s Blog
  12. Music’s Mermaid | alienorajt
  13. Date with the Alpine Lakes, Kashmir, India | Life is a Vacation
  14. The Imago Dei and Swinging Birches with Mr. Frost | meanderedwanderings
  15. Beauty is everywhere | Neva Samaki
  16. Multanomah Falls | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  17. My Musical Progression | Life Confusions
  18. Eye Of The Beholder: Learning To Fly | Just Visiting This Planet
  19. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder
  20. Waters with a Taste of Mountains. | The Life NomadikThe Life Nomadik
  21. Eye of the Beholder | Kate Murray
  22. friday morning, tagged | y
  23. banksy | yi-ching lin photography
  24. Wander.. | gypsy thoughts ..
  25. The Music Swirls | Flowers and Breezes
  26. Daily Prompt:Eye of the Beholder | Motherhood and Beyond
  27. 190. Eye of the Beholder | Barely Right of Center
  28. Daily Prompt: Eye of the beholder | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
18 thoughts on “The Beauty in this world

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Buzz | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Eye of the Beholder – LET MUSIC RING! | SERENDIPITY

  4. Pingback: The Magic of Music | Cheri Speak

  5. Pingback: What if I could explain beauty? | Okay, what if ?

  6. Pingback: What it feels like to hear a beautiful piece of music or see a stunning piece of art | Processing the life

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Eye of The Beholder – Poem / Poetry – “Acoustiscal Tonic” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  8. Pingback: ACCOUSTICAL TONIC | hastywords

Leave a Reply

