Chameleon

How important are clothes to you? Describe your style, if you have one, and tell us how appearance impacts how you feel about yourself.

When I was little, my elder sister used to dress me up like a bride and I was very happy to go along with it. I used to pose and have my pictures taken.

001-1

I’m like a chameleon as far as clothing is concerned. I adapt to my environment.

When I’m with my husband and this is only on the weekends as he works during the week in another country, I make an effort to dress up a bit wearing a nice top and trousers/jeans. When I’m on my own and shopping for groceries I’ll be covered up with a coat and a head scarf.

On occasions where I get together with other families from my home country I usually wear the traditional kameez (long shirt) and chooridar (tights) or whatever is in fashion as long as it’s comfortable. If I’m with others I’ll just be wearing a longish top and jeans.

If I’m travelling abroad I’d be wearing a comfortable top and jeans, but if I go to my home country I’d be wearing the shalwar kameez with a covering on my head.

I like wearing bright and colorful clothes and accessories. I don’t wear much make-up and I don’t like to either. On grocery runs or school pick/drops I won’t even be wearing any lipstick.

When I’m dressed up I feel more confident of myself. I like it when someone notices that I’ve made an effort. Usually that’s my little son telling me that “Mama looks pretty!” (My husband should learn lessons from him!)

However I don’t believe in spending too much on clothes. Living in Dubai where all the designer labels are available the sky is the limit as far as cost goes. And one can easily get carried away, but I think it’s really not worth it. You can look equally good as long as what you’re wearing flatters you and you are comfortable in it.

Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man

  1. Steve Hanuman | Village & Countryside Tourism
  2. Louis Viviers | Village & Countryside Tourism
  3. Rural Tourism in Russia: Man and Horse | Village & Countryside Tourism
  4. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Awl and Scribe
  5. Man maketh the clothes. « RPMAS
  6. Daily Prompt: It’s About Clothes and Not About Russia | Under the Monkey Tree
  7. The Clothes (May) Make the Man | geekergosum
  8. Never Stationary
  9. Suit Up! | Crossroads
  10. Zero, Budget Version. | thoughtsofrkh
  11. Too Sexy For My Clothes [Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man] | unknowinglee
  12. Canada Goose (Style) | photo potpourri
  13. Daily Prompt: Clothes: I Blame Stacy & Clinton | Kim, Who Lives at Home
  14. The Clothes (May) make the Woman (Writer) | Kate Murray
  15. Way down inside | The verbal hedge
  16. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man « Mama Bear Musings
  17. I Feel For My Mother – Daily Prompt Repost | The Mercenary Researcher
  18. they’re just clothes | wannabepoet
  19. My Old Green Sweater | The Jittery Goat
  20. Polo Shirt And Chinos | Tony’s Texts
  21. Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man — Purple Sweaters, Orange Dresses | SERENDIPITY
  22. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | littlegirlstory
  23. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Vagabond
  24. Dress for Sucess | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  25. Second Class Style | An Upturned Soul
  26. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  27. A shameful confession. | Tales of a slightly stressed Mother!
  28. Naked People don’t influence society | crookedeyebrows
  29. Shift in styles | The life of T
  30. Calmness | Broken Light: A Photography Collective
  31. What the hell is she wearing? | Girlie Groove
  32. The Clothes that Make the Woman | The River Mom
  33. House of Revolving Style | wordsandotherthings
  34. On Clothes and Androgyny | the wannabe artist
  35. Princesses and Docs | Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis and Me
  36. Silver, With A Golden Heart | ~xoxo, msL
  37. Clothing and Confidence | A Sign Of Life
  38. Daily Prompt: The Clothes Make the Man | My Atheist Blog
  39. Why do I look so good? | Rob’s Surf Report
  40. Fur Coat… | Haiku By Ku
  41. Why do I love black? Let me count the ways. | walkin’ on sunshine
  42. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  43. Well I’m not naked… | Day of the Week Fat Pants
  44. I’d Rather Be Naked… | Take your Chances; Make it Happen
  45. Unclothed | alienorajt
  46. I really don’t care | Life is great
  47. Jeans | East Meets Breast
  48. It tickles my senses | Hope* the happy hugger
  49. Hats n’ Scarves…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  50. Fashion centsibility | Beth Byrnes
  51. Daily Prompt: The Clothes That Make | cagedbutterfly1
  52. Bring on the Karken…but do it with style. | Vampire Maman
  53. Unclothed | vicbriggs’s Blog
  54. The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | To Write With a Broken Pencil is Pointless
  55. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make Make the (Wo)man | lifebeinggirly
  56. Daily Prompt: The Clothes (may) Make the (Wo)Man | Understated Classics
  57. Daily Prompt: The Clothes Make The Man | Steve Says….
  58. Jeans +Shirt +Sneakers=Done! | Not a Punk Rocker
  59. I’m a T-shirt and jeans kind of girl. Always will be. | Reinvention of Mama
  60. Car Wars:This Is How I Roll | Just Visiting This Planet
  61. I don’t always make bold fashion statements…… | djgarcia94

 

9 thoughts on “Chameleon

  1. Wow, you live in Dubai! I’ve seen beautiful photos and incredible there. =). It is very nice to receive a compliment when people wear something different. One day I was praised by two old men when I was walking on the street. And it was one of the best compliments I ever received in my life :). I loved your style.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: The Clothes (May) Make the (Wo)man | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: How to Feel Like a Princess | mycookinglifebypatty

  4. Pingback: Why do I look so good? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: How important are clothes to you? | Processing the life

  6. Pingback: Overdress Or Underdress | Anchors Aweigh

  7. Pingback: I really don’t care | Life is great

  8. Pingback: Princesses and Docs | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

