Is my son already grown up?

The other day my mother tried to distract my son from doing something naughty by telling him “Come and play here, your McQueen is asking, ‘Where is Nadir?’” to which he promptly replied, “McQueen is a toy, he can’t talk!”

Is my not-even-4 yr old already grown up? Should we be talking to him like an adult now?

When he was younger he was not so social and would be too shy to talk to other people. Now he goes up to strangers and asks them their name and how old they are.

This morning he was talking in his sleep. “Will you marry me?” he said. Later when I asked him who he was proposing to he looked decidedly embarrassed and didn’t answer me. But this got me thinking. Isn’t he too young to even have a girlfriend let alone be proposing?? Whatever next?

His demands are getting more and more elaborate. Today he was telling me, “I want a fairy godmother.. and a stepmother!”. It seems that poor old me is not enough for him!

growing up2

 

3 thoughts on “Is my son already grown up?

  1. It sounds like his horizons and world are expanding. That’s completely normal, and if he is now more sociable and less shy, it’s natural. Of course, watching it all happen makes one wonder, as a parent. Tugs at the heart-strings …. but enjoy it – children grow up so quickly – time seems to fly and before you know it, they are off to grade school and then bingo – high school. Enjoy and treasure it all. 🙂 Besides, he may be *growing up* but I’m sure there are still moments when he is completely and wholly a little boy. 🙂 It’s all special.

Leave a Reply

