Book reading (Part 2)

“I don’t like snakes,” said Zain, the little boy in the red shirt. “Well, let’s see what you think at the end of the story” I replied with a smile.

At the end of the book reading, Zain had changed his mind and was asking to buy the book “Nadir and the snake”.

I had a small group of children aged between 3 and 6 years and I was reading them my books “Nadir and the snake” and “Nadir and Incy Wincy Spider”. The venue was a very nice place here in Dubai for activities like mini-golf, arts and crafts and cooking for children.

The children were so responsive it was amazing. We all had a lot of fun. The most adorable child was little Sienna who wanted to answer all my questions and also add a few bits of information on her own as well. However, the naughtiest boy in the room was Nadir, my son, who was trying to take my props (paper snakes and spiders). I think he still hasn’t figured out why his Mama was reading “his” books to other children!

After the book reading I read out a few of my poems. (At the ZooA Matter of Mater) I then introduced Nadir to the audience who was wearing a rabbit mask like in the book and was still struggling to get my snake (even though he already had a few similar to it of his own).

At the end was the book signing where the children could choose the color of the giveaways (more spiders and snakes) and have their books signed by me, the author.

Overall it went very well and was good practice for a bigger group as I have some book readings next month in Nadir’s school.

Related:

Book Reading

My Books

5 thoughts on “Book reading (Part 2)

  1. Book reading to kids is one of the most beautiful, fulfilling experiences we can make. They joy in their eyes, the enthusiasm, the almost unending creativity and imagination. A wonderful share of amazing children books. Thanks. Best wishes!

    • Thank you so much. It started out as just noting down some of the things my son had said or done. I ended up being a published author! Loving every moment of this journey.

  2. I’m so glad the experience was wonderful and clearly the children were responsive and excited. Congrats and I hope the next reading will be just as exciting and delightful 🙂

Leave a Reply

