Applying for a visa

What’s the most dreadful (or wonderful) experience you’ve ever had as a customer?

Many years ago I applied for a US visa from my home country. My brother was working as a doctor in the US and I wanted to visit him. Now since you are paying for the visa you are a customer and it’s only fair to expect some good service in return.

I first had to queue outside the embassy. I remember the place where I was standing had no shade and it was in the hot months of summer. There was an old gentleman who had turned up wearing a suit in his zeal to impress. After standing for about an hour he collapsed and was helped by others also standing in the queue. Nobody from inside the embassy came to help.

When I finally got inside, there was another queue to deal with. When I reached the counter I remember the man interrogating me like a suspect. He asked me about my work, (I was working for a telecom company at that time) and would stare at me for a few seconds after I answered as if to judge whether I was telling the truth or not.

I got a 5 year multiple visit visa. I never went to visit my brother but I did visit the US years later with my husband.

The best experience I had with visa applications was recently when I applied for a Turkish visa from my country of residence. We waited in a room for around 10 minutes before being called to the counter by a friendly visa officer who checked our papers and then offered to give me a 2 year visa instead of the 1 year I had applied for.

Daily Prompt: Are you being served?

  1. It’s Hot in Mike’s Kitchen | In Harmony
  2. Things You Should Not Say To Me While Ringing Up My Purchases | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  3. 178. Customer Service | Barely Right of Center
  4. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? | મન ની વાત
  5. Early Dessert? | Daily Prompt: Are you being served? | likereadingontrains
  6. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? BAD service!!! | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  7. May I have your order? | Crossroads
  8. I Have Secret, Invisible Items. | tuckedintoacorner
  9. Rite of labour | shame
  10. Why? | That’s Just The Way It Is
  11. May I have your order? | Crossroads
  12. ••Gone Terribly Wrong•• | mët•aRVhëë•n✪ia
  13. The 65 dollar cup of coffeee « RPMAS
  14. Daily Prompt: Service | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  15. Well, aint that just finer n frog hair | mostlytrueramblings
  16. The New iOS 7 | Anchors Aweigh
  17. Daily Prompt: Are You Being Served? | Under the Monkey Tree
  18. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? > Served with Gratitude | From Ground to Home
  19. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? | lifebeinggirly
  20. Unemployed; The Worst Of Times And The Best Of Times | The Jittery Goat
  21. Service | Motherhood and Beyond
  22. Daily Prompt: Server Not Found! | DCMontreal
  23. I just wanted to run away | crookedeyebrows
  24. M. Le Serveur | Barefoot in Paris
  25. You Don’t Look Good With Socks and Sandals | sayanything
  26. Customer service makes me want to cry | It’s a Fine Line
  27. WordPress Daily Prompt: Are you being served | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  28. Daily Prompt: Are You Being Served? « Mama Bear Musings
  29. SERVICE WITH A SMILE | Dear Yolandi
  30. Service With a Smile? Not Likely… | Just Visiting This Planet
  31. The good the bad and the… | dawnyhosking
  32. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? | The Story of a Guy
  33. You just cannot get the staff! | alienorajt
  34. Have You been Served? | Along Life’s Road
  35. Once upon a time in a diner | SueAnn Porter
  36. Daily prompt : Are you being served ? | jansideas
  37. DTP 2 PRINT – Best Service in Years! | Sula1968’s Blog
  38. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? Chaos and Madness at AT&T | SERENDIPITY
  39. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? | Vagabond
  40. Good Service… | Haiku By Ku
  41. The Family Book | Life is great
  42. The Family Book | From Five to Fifty
  43. A Perfect Day…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  44. Service in the Hutong. | The Land Slide Photography
  45. Daily Prompt: Are you being served? | My Atheist Blog
  46. “Service” | Relax
  47. Are you being served? | Random Encounters of an Inquisitive Mind
  48. “I’m Sorry, But We’re All Out” | Here’s My Heart & Here’s My Mouth
  49. Are You Being Served? | Flowers and Breezes
  50. It’s Toni Thursday! Spokes-Snail of the ISBM at your service! | Janey Macken Street!
  51. Are you being served? | Dreams Will Catch You
  52. Have I really been served? | Rob’s Surf Report
  53. Sorry, No Portuguese! | Pink Bubbly
  54. How may I help you? Syke! | A Short A Day
5 thoughts on “Applying for a visa

  1. Pingback: WordPress Daily Prompt: Are you being served | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: The Family Book | Life is great

  3. Pingback: Have I really been served? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Mina’s Coffee | The Silver Leaf Journal

Leave a Reply

