I need ’em all

If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

Last year my son was studying about the five senses. “The eyes are for seeing, the hands are for touching, the nose is for smelling, the ears are for hearing..”

“And what is the tongue for?” I asked. “For sticking out!” is the cheeky reply I got.

He doesn’t know yet what a blessing the five senses are even though every minute he is using them all to soak in his atmosphere.

Without my eyes I would not have seen the beautiful sights around the world from the Eiffel tower swathed in a golden light, the architecture of Rome, the blue waters of the Mediterranean, the awe-inspiring Pyramids of Giza to heavenly Switzerland.

Without my hands I would not be able to paint or craft or know the pleasure of creating something with my own hands.

Without my nose, well without my nose I would just look funny wouldn’t I? And not know what flowers smelt like. I wouldn’t even know when to change pampers when my son was little!

Without my tongue I would not know the sweetness of honey, and the sourness of lemons or to differentiate between a hot chapatti and ice cream!

Without my ears I would not have heard the rich laughter of my child, the sweetest sound in the world.

God in his Graciousness gives us these blessings without us asking for them. I could not choose to give up any of them.

This post has been written in response to the Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive

  1. Leaf on the spider web | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Spoiling for a flight | Musings from a practical mystic
  3. Agritourism in Russia. Volokonovsky District, Belgorod Oblast | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. Super Sensitive | Geek Ergo Sum
  5. Moth (Daily Prompt: Sensitive) | photo potpourri
  6. Losing Colours | The Ambitious Drifter
  7. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Under the Monkey Tree
  8. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Life as a country bumpkin…not a city girl
  9. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive « Mama Bear Musings
  10. Tie-dyed with blood and nerves | alienorajt
  11. Sense and Sensitivity. | Crossroads
  12. Unstable senses |
  13. Super Sensitivity | ??Journey or destination??
  14. Sensitivity | Mareship
  15. Upon Learning That I Was Draco Malfoy | Conversations
  16. Tommy’s Deal With The Devil; Kind Of Funny When You Think About It (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  17. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | flow of my soul
  18. Daily Prompt: Sensitive | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  19. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | My Atheist Blog
  20. Five Minus One is Six | In Harmony
  21. Six of one and half dozen of the other « RPMAS
  22. If I Should Lose My Senses | ~xoxo, msL
  23. First | Not Enough Poetry
  24. Sensitive Me… | The Rider
  25. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  26. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Notes to Honor Good
  27. Hearing for Sight | Writing Daily
  28. Sight Yes, Smell No. Thank You Allergy / Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Communication For Development
  29. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Sense the Sensitivity
  30. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Photos and writings
  31. Sensible | Tony’s Texts
  32. Super Sense | Lori’s Life and Other Stuff
  33. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive — See like a hawk | SERENDIPITY
  34. Super Senses, Book and Baby Love and Me | Reinvention of Mama
  35. What’s that Smell? | Pink Bubbly
  36. A Matter of Taste | An Upturned Soul
  37. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Jasper Smits
  38. Sensitive to Beauty | The Silver Leaf Journal
  39. The Non and the Common | Eikons
  40. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | The Story of a Guy
  41. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Sense and Sensibility | Incognito
  42. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | crookedeyebrows
  43. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Steve Says….
  44. Ciao To The Five Senses | Kansa Muse on Micro Farming and More
  45. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | not the nest
  46. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  47. My Precious Nose | Flowers and Breezes
  48. Over my dead body | Life is great
  49. Daily Prompt: Super sensitive : Hands | rosekebab
  50. Sensitivity; a Super Power…(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  51. Duncan the Sushi Roll #11 | Neva Samaki
  52. Daily Prompt Challenge – Sensitive | soletusknow
  53. Daily Prompt: Sensitive (Flower in the Water: Edit) | Alice’s Adventures in Reality
  54. Would I really favor an imbalanced sensory array? | Rob’s Surf Report
  55. Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Edward Cares
  56. My Dog Senses | Anchors Aweigh

4 thoughts on “I need ’em all

  1. Pingback: Would I really favor an imbalanced sensory array? | Rob's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Over my dead body | Life is great

  4. Pingback: Senseless | Edward Hotspur

Leave a Reply

