On the Road

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? 

A few weeks back I ventured further than I have ever gone before. No not to outer space, just driving in my Pajero to an area I have never gone to previously. Now I hate getting lost and I don’t consider it an adventure like many people do, so if I have to go to a place where I don’t have the foggiest idea how to get to, I usually ask my husband to go instead.

So it happened that we needed visas for our vacations and we weren’t sure if we could get them on arrival. Normally I would have asked my husband to sort it out himself but since he is not around during the week (works in another country) I had to reluctantly go myself.

So I set out relying on my GPS lady as well as my phone maps.

I wanted to make sure if I missed one, the other would guide me. Well this didn’t turn out to be such a great idea.  The two navigation guides were having some sort of conflict that day and they decided to take me on different routes. To add to the confusion was the ever happening construction of Dubai resulting in closed lanes/roads. Sure enough I found myself halfway to the airport instead of the consulate. Finally I switched off my phone maps guide and relied on the GPS lady to get me to my destination.

When I arrived there I found the visa section was a small room with around 50 men and one woman standing in a winding queue that filled up the room. Also filling the room was a certain odor that its occupants were badly feeling the effects of the heat. I asked the solitary lady standing there what I was supposed to do since I had just arrived there with the passports. She told me that first I would have to get some photocopies done from the neighboring embassy. I had those done and when I came back the lady was still in the same spot in the queue. She then told me to get the application forms from the man at the desk.

Since this man was not visible in the sea of humanity standing there, I tried to work my way to the desk. When the man saw me he told me to get in line for the application forms. This meant I would have to get in the same infernal line twice, once for getting the forms and another time for submitting them. To collect the visa I would have to come the next day and stand in line again.

Anyway I complied and when I reached the man at the desk a good 45 minutes later, he took one look at my papers and yelled

“Where is Mohammad?” referring to my husband. I explained to him that my husband was travelling and couldn’t be present.

“I can’t give you the visa without Mohammad” he concluded, as the man behind me tried to forward his papers.

“So can we get the visa on arrival?” I asked.

“Yes, yes” he said impatiently signaling to the man behind me.

“What the heck am I doing here then?” I thought to myself as I made my way out.

On the way back I was so angry I drove in the sixth (fastest) lane on the highway, something I never do.

This post was written in response to The Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock

  1. I Am a Rock | Geek Ergo Sum
  2. Overcoming Psychological Issues of Being A Novelist | Ramisa the Authoress
  3. The Rock | Renato Vasconcellos David
  4. Self | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  5. My.Vivid.Visions | Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – Love the Independence
  6. Daily Prompt: Help | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  7. ask for help? pfffft | wannabepoet
  8. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Alastair’s Blog
  9. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Alastair’s Blog
  10. Prideful life principle | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  11. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Under the Monkey Tree
  12. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Kelly’s Life
  13. I Am (my own) Rock | Clandestine Destiny
  14. On Asking for Help | My Beautiful Breakdown
  15. Daily Prompt: I Am A Rock | College Girl Dai
  16. Suck it up Buttercup | mostlytrueramblings
  17. Suck it up Buttercup | mostlytrueramblings
  18. I am a rock | ??Journey or destination??
  19. Daily Prompt ~ It’s Rocky Here! | Misifusa’s Blog
  20. daily prompt – relp! | pork juice & paper towels
  21. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock « Mama Bear Musings
  22. Help me OR Stay away from me?? | mcpw
  23. It’s Playtime | Anchors Aweigh
  24. Help! (Is it easy to ask for help?) | alienorajt
  25. Advice To Writers; Help Me! I’m Bleeding! | The Jittery Goat
  26. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | littlegirlstory
  27. Daily Prompt: Could Somebody Help Me Please? | Along Life’s Road
  28. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock 4|9 | familyphotosfoodcraft.com
  29. What if I was Rock Solid? | Okay, what if ?
  30. 163. Looking for Help | kevindeisher
  31. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | The Story of a Guy
  32. Daily Prompt: I am a rock | Hephzibah
  33. HELP. | ayimas
  34. A little help from my friends… | Vampire Maman
  35. the UNCATEGORISED | Vomming into the hand that feeds you | the TRASH BASH
  36. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | મન ની વાત
  37. Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  38. With A Little Help From My Friends – Part One | Zeebra Designs & Destinations
  39. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Olivia May Photography
  40. I Am a Rock | Flowers and Breezes
  41. With A Little Help From My Friends (Finally) | Not a Punk Rocker
  42. Daily Prompt – I’m a Rock? | My Gap Year Adventure
  43. Rock Me, Baby | CurTales
  44. Independent Pup… | Haiku By Ku
  45. HELP | dandelionsinwind
  46. Too shy | Life is great
  47. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – show us SELF. | masadiso79’s Blog
  48. Help and Contradictions « RPMAS
  49. Day 176: Recovery and Reflections | mentalrollercoaster
  50. Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | a thotful spot
  51. Egomaniac much? | An Upturned Soul
  52. Daily Prompt : I am a rock | Valley Girl Gone Country
  53. Daily prompt: I am a rock // Connection | That’s what Shaun said.
  54. Call Me Gibraltar | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  55. Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | a thotful spot
  56. Lean on me | Life & Times
  57. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – Accepting Help then Giving Help! | Finding the SILVER LINING in every step of the Journey…..:)
  58. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Vagabond
  59. Daily Post ~ I’m Rocking | Saving Daddy’s Soulmate
  60. Self Portrait | The Magic Black Book
  61. Daily Prompt; I Am a Rock | terry1954
  62. On thinking about the Self | The Magic Black Book
  63. A Rock Walks into A Bar | Molly Greye
  64. Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | My Atheist Blog
5 thoughts on “On the Road

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I am a Rock | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Too shy | Life is great

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – IT’S MY LIFE | Phoenix Flights

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Motherhood and Beyond

  5. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

Leave a Reply

