The Naming Game

Do you know the meaning of your name, and why your parents chose it? Do you think it suits you? What about your children’s names?

Every parent has 9 months to decide his/her child’s name, yet many children remain nameless for weeks at end. What is it in a name that makes it so hard to make a decision. And how on earth do people come up with names such as “North West”??

I was named Zainab by my father and although it very appropriately means “a father’s precious jewel” or “the one who glorifies a father” in Arabic, I was given this name more for it’s historical significance and it’s popularity among Muslims. The daughter of the Holy Prophet Mohammad (Peace be upon him) was named Zainab as well as one of his granddaughters. Another meaning of Zainab is “blossoming flower” or “fragrant flower”.

Although I have never thought of myself as a blossoming flower, I love my name and I cannot think of anything that would suit me more. It is my identity. I look in the mirror and I think “Zainab”, except for a few of those bad days when I think “Stupid Idiot”. Unfortunately my father went a step further and also gave me a nickname and half my family know me by my nickname of “Binno” (I cannot believe I just told you all that!)

I named my son Nadir (pronounced Naader) which means exceptional in Urdu. When I found out I was having a boy I had these considerations while naming him:

A name with a meaning which could shape his personality because I really believe that it does.

A name starting with the letter N to go with his father’s name Naseer.

A name which sounds good with his surname of Ali.

And so I came up with Nadir Ali.

At some point of time I have to change the spelling to Nader to differentiate it from the English word which very inappropriately means the lowest point 😦

Yes I know what you’re thinking, I had 9 months to decide and I couldn’t get the spelling right?

This is what others had to say:

  1. When my granny was young | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Natalie Elizabeth. | Natalie Elizabeth Beech
  3. S. Thomas Summers | Daily Prompt: Identity
  4. Name that… You! | Geek Ergo Sum
  5. What’s in a Name? « RPMAS
  6. What’s in a Name? | meanderedwanderings
  7. Facebook and Cheap Trick: I’d like you to like me | DCMontreal
  8. There’s no (censored) “D” in my name | thoughtsofrkh
  9. Daily Prompt: The Born Identity | Creative Mysteries
  10. MASIDO | Hellen Masido
  11. Phoneography Weekly: What lies under the bushes | We Live In A Flat
  12. Daily Prompt: Name that…You! « Mama Bear Musings
  13. What’s in a name? | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  14. Daily Prompt: Name that…You | Under the Monkey Tree
  15. daily prompt – what’s in a name? | pork juice & paper towels
  16. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! « Every day adventures in Asia (mostly)
  17. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! Five Js | littlegirlstory
  18. Daily Prompt; Name that..You | terry1954
  19. Daily Prompts | derekalanwilkinson
  20. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | College Girl Dai
  21. Daily Prompt: Identity – It’s Maryann, Not Maryanne, Not Marianne | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  22. What’s In A Name? | The Ambitious Drifter
  23. What’s In A Name? Ingredients | Edward Hotspur
  24. What’s in a name? | Hope* the happy hugger
  25. Naming Baby Brother (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  26. Alienora: what a weird name! | alienorajt
  27. Baby Names Matter | Virginia Views
  28. Oops I Named Myself: The ‘Thrilling’ Tale Behind My Name | Untitled Entity
  29. Beloved Stag in a Field | The Cheese Whines
  30. 160. What’s in a Name? | kevindeisher
  31. Defining Yourself – Identity | Prayers and Promises
  32. A wandering emerald | MC’s Whispers
  33. I name this ship… | Life & Times
  34. Name that…You | Flowers and Breezes
  35. Just the Two of Us | The Seeker’s Dungeon
  36. Naming Me | Self-observing with a Typical Nobody
  37. What’s in a Name? | The Silver Leaf Journal
  38. Name that… You! | The Nameless One
  39. Just the Two of Us | Catching up with The Seeker’s Dungeon | Hey Sweetheart, Get Me Rewrite!
  40. What’s in a name? | Motherhood and Beyond
  41. Renato: | Renato Vasconcellos David
  42. What’s my name all about? | Hreodbeorht’s Surf Report
  43. Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  44. “Name that.. You!” | Relax
  45. The Fertile Earth Goddess | In Harmony
  46. What’s In A Name? ((Daily Prompt)) | ♡ sarah ♡
  47. Daily Prompt: Name That…You! : Minh the Clever Cat | The Blessing of Animal Companions
  48. I am me | I Might Ramble
  49. Daily Prompt: “It’s Pohlin, sounds like Poland but pronounced po-LIN… just call me Po” | Pohlin Lau
  50. “That which we call a ROSE by another other name would smell as sweet.” | Enchanted Seashells…Confessions of a Tugboat Captain’s Wife
  51. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | MEM | The Journey of My Feet
  52. Namesake | 1+1=11
  53. Namesake | 1+1=11
  54. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! Victory, Rebellion, Peace | @ The West Gate
  55. Roshini | fingerprintwriting
  56. Name That Loon | Cheri Speak
  57. Names, Titles and Pseudonyms ~ a poem | Maggie’s Stories
  58. My Name is Maureen : DP | BLUE BEAD PUBLICATIONS
  59. What’s in a name | dandelionsinwind
  60. Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Heron There & Everywhere
  61. My name is… | Pen Kisses Paper
  62. Purity | Scraps of Paper
  63. What if I was a girl? By the way, I’m not! | Okay, what if ?
  64. the UNCATEGORISED|Daily Prompt: IDENTITY | the TRASH BASH
  65. Daily Post – Daily Prompt – Name that… You! | awritersfountain
  66. Daily Prompt: Identity | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  67. That’s Not My Name! | An Upturned Soul
  68. Sorry, You’ve Been Disconnected | The Road Less Paved
  69. Danny Boy! | Danny James
  70. Daily Promt: And The Winner is… | Along Life’s Road
  71. Daily Prompt – Name That … You | hometogo232
  72. Bear… | Haiku By Ku
  73. My strange little Chinese name. | A Girl with a Piano
  74. An Expedition Into Identity | Daily Prompt: Name That…You! | Quinn Harkness
  75. noble warship? | Her Broken Nibs
  76. What’s in a name? | tornin2’s Blog
  77. Daily Prompt: Name that…You! | Today’s Monday, so I’m Alex | I Have a Story to Tell…
  78. Henceforth You Shall Be Called ‘Brad’ | mobibrad
  79. Give Me Your Name | floatingsheep
  80. Daily Prompt: My name is Marilyn. I’m a teepee. | SERENDIPITY
  81. Identity | Mara Eastern’s Personal Blog
  82. Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Ambitious Jackson
  83. Daily Prompt – Name that…You! | imexcited
  84. Who? | LauGraEva
  85. Writing Prompt: Name That… You. | I Hope You’re Taking Notes
  86. What’s in a Name? | On Gorgeousness
17 thoughts on “The Naming Game

  1. Pingback: What’s my name all about? | Hreodbeorht's Surf Report

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

    • No not a name, just a word which in Astronomy means “A point on the celestial sphere directly below the observer, diametrically opposite the zenith” or “the lowest point”.

  3. Pingback: Name That Loon | Cheri Speak

  4. Pingback: What if I was a girl? By the way, I’m not! | Okay, what if ?

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that…You! | imexcited

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | Alastair's Blog

  7. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  8. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  9. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  10. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  11. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name that… You! | My Atheist Blog

  12. Pingback: Writing Prompt: Name That… You. | I Hope You're Taking Notes

  13. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

Leave a Reply

