Patriotism

When I was small we used to decorate our house with Pakistan flags on Independence Day and watch the flag hoisting ceremony on television with a sense of pride. As I grew up and learnt that we belonged to a sect that had been declared as non-Muslims by the constitution of the country I became disillusioned. I learnt that people from my community were persecuted, jailed and even murdered. My father was an honest and highly skilled officer of the Army but was not promoted because of his religious beliefs.

Three years ago we moved to Dubai for a better life for our son. I’ve taught him to answer ‘Pakistan’ when someone asks him where he’s from. He knows that his grandmothers live in Islamabad. He knows what the flag of Pakistan looks like and that the language spoken there is Urdu. But that’s about all. He was only 8 months old when we moved here so he doesn’t remember anything.

It makes me very sad to say this, but my husband and I both don’t feel any patriotism towards our country. If we had the opportunity to get the citizenship of another country we would take it. Anything for a better life for our son.

2013-01-31 11.11.59

Other entries:

  1. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Under the Monkey Tree
  2. Wishing my home country Malaysia, Selamat Merdeka | littlegirlstory
  3. Daily Prompt: Country | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  4. Canada Sucks and I Don’t Want to Leave : I Pledge Allegience | thanks for letting me autograph your cat
  5. Duncan the Sushi Roll #5 | Neva Samaki
  6. No country should exist | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  7. Daily Prompt: Pledge Allegiance | Motherhood and Beyond
  8. Daily Prompt: Country – What Country Means to Me | USS Hornet (CV-12)-A Father’s Untold War Story
  9. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | The Lint In My Pocket
  10. Pledge Allegiance | Flowers and Breezes
  11. Pledge | A Good One
  12. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance « Mama Bear Musings
  13. There Are Better Things Than Patriotism | The Jittery Goat
  14. Canadian post card | DCMontreal
  15. Daily Prompt : Being Indonesian? I am deadly Proud of It! | bambangpriantono
  16. 158. Questionable Allegiance | kevindeisher
  17. Country | Rebecca Barray
  18. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | I really just pretend to know stuff
  19. Daily Prompt: Country – Our America by Shannon Holloway | IF I ONLY HAD A TIME MACHINE
  20. Country | The Nameless One
  21. A small stitch from the fabric of Canada | Patchwork Ponderings
  22. We agree to celebrate our life… | Vampire Maman
  23. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Likeness Of Something
  24. Two countries | Life is great
  25. #Patriotism in #Murica | floatingsheep
  26. RPMAS
  27. Daily Writing Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Charles Ray’s Ramblings
  28. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance « Vicariously Poetic
  29. Daily Prompt: To pledge allegiance and mean it | SERENDIPITY
  30. The Death Of National Pride | Liars, Hypocrites & The Development of Human Emotion
  31. My Country……(wp daily prompt) | Daily Observations
  32. Of thee i sing | contrailsonmyheart
  33. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Nature Wisdom Journey
  34. Daily Prompt; I Pledge Allegiance | terry1954
  35. My top five things about being British… | My Top Fives…
  36. Editorial: Reflections of loyalty on a holiday weekend | The not really news blog
  37. DP Poem: “Pledge Allegiance”… One Nation Under God!!! | The Abuse Expose’ with Secret Angel
  38. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | The Daily Post | The Blogging Path
  39. Republicans are more patriotic than democrats | The Flavored Word
  40. Britain Sucks – But I’m Still Proud Of It |Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | Quinn Harkness
  41. the patriotic call of the mightily dollar | The Seminary of Praying Mantis
  42. Letter to My Soldier | anniethinksabout
  43. I’m Canadian Eh! | Along Life’s Road
  44. Crazy for the Red, White, and Blue | A Day in the Life
  45. Daily Prompt: I Pledge [Corporate] Allegiance | My Atheist Blog
  46. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance all My Life to the Magic Colours, Red, White and Blue | Phoenix Flights
  47. “I Pledge Allegiance” | Relax
  48. England, My England | Life & Times
  49. Daily Prompt: I pledge Allegiance ~ To Know the Meaning | For the Love of Images
  50. Allegiance Breeds Bias | Cheri Speak
  51. Cuba: An Introduction | The Life NomadikThe Life Nomadik
  52. A Canadian in America | Amy Warren
  53. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance! | The Geeky G4mer
  54. Cannotdo Reactor | Her Broken Nibs
  55. I pledge allegiance | the scroobious pip
  56. Daily Prompt: Our Country ’tis of Thee | One Starving Activist
  57. Ideals And The Standards Of Love | Wise Counsel
  58. Daily Prompt: I Do Not Pledge Allegiance / Country | @ The West Gate
  59. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | BulgingButtons
  60. I Pledge Allegiance — No, This Is Not the Same Post | Resident Alien — Being Dutch in America
  61. Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance | LADYBOY PROMPT
  62. Love thy neighbour. | Forlorn Hope: A Diary Of A Broken Heart
  63. Am I really very patriotic? | Rob’s Surf Report
  64. What does loyalty really mean? | Legends of Lorata
13 thoughts on “Patriotism

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegience | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Pledge Allegiance all My Life to the Magic Colours, Red, White and Blue | Phoenix Flights

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Pledge [Corporate] Allegiance | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: England, My England | Life & Times

  5. Pingback: Allegiance Breeds Bias | Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: Lest We Forget – Sydney, Australia | alternative.reality

  7. Pingback: Am I really very patriotic? | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Two patriots | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

