Motherhood Award

You are receiving an award –- either one that already exists, or a new one created just for you. What would the award be, why are you being honored, and what would you say in your acceptance speech?

I’m finally being recognized for my unpaid 24 hour on call job as a carer, teacher, nanny, driver, nurse and much more. My husband and my son have created the Motherhood Award just to thank me. I guess Mother’s day (one day in the whole year, c’mon?) just wasn’t enough.

The award itself is made of pink cardboard and red ribbon, drawn and colored by my son and cut out and written by my husband. The prize that goes with the award is that my husband will take care of my son for the day, while I go for some pampering at the spa, ice-skating (which I’ve always wanted to do but never managed to), a few hours of shopping for something nice for myself, followed by a dinner at a fancy restaurant where I can dress to kill.

For my acceptance speech I’m just going to say “Thank you for realizing I needed to be appreciated.”

Ok now I’m off to make my husband read my post 🙂

Other entries for this Daily Prompt:

  1. Realisation Dream (Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats) | Amelie Lockhart
  2. Daily Prompt: | Under the Monkey Tree
  3. Speechless [Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats] | unknowinglee
  4. Headless Horseman’s Victory | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  5. Daily Prompt-Writing Will Help Me Win | readingwithafeather
  6. I’m so honored | Right Down My Alley
  7. I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Geek Ergo Sum
  8. Cygnets (Daily Prompt: Victory) | photo potpourri
  9. DP Challenge: Victory; the Water Villages of Ha Long Bay, VN | Travels and Trifles
  10. Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond
  11. I’d like to thank… | thoughtsofrkh
  12. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank the Fans | One Starving Activist
  13. Boomer! | Andante Cantabile
  14. 153. The Scotsman Wins | kevindeisher
  15. The art of accepting blogging awards | The Novice Gardener
  16. Youth Triathlon | It’s a wonderful F’N life
  17. A Small Victory | The Ambitious Drifter
  18. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats (and Dogs) | littlegirlstory
  19. Such A Pretty Trophy | Maggie’s Stories
  20. Daily Prompt: Acceptance Speech – Belladonna on the stand | alienorajt
  21. My Award | The Nest
  22. Professor Dudley Worthington’s Lifetime Achievement Award (short fiction) | The Jittery Goat
  23. I’d Like to Thank My Cats: How Not To Accept An Award… | suzie81’s Blog
  24. Burke Revisited | clarior e tenebris
  25. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Venti Means 20
  26. I Deserve That Trophy | Shilpa Sharma Online
  27. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats.| Beauty is on the inside Award! | Isabel MissV
  28. The reward would be an award in itself. | Hope* the happy hugger
  29. Thank you Mr Bear… | notsinglebutnothappy
  30. A Standing Ovation… and Silence. | An Upturned Soul
  31. Daily Prompt: …and the winner is ME | mommy&everything
  32. Daily Prompt: I’d like to thank my coffee maker. | M. L. Trefry
  33. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  34. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Dogs, Husband, Friends, and All Benign Deities | SERENDIPITY
  35. Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Sued51’s Blog
  36. Daily Prompt: I’d like to thank my cats | Exploring Utah with MS and Apples
  37. Victory: A Dedication to All The Survivors | Mind My Mind But…
10 thoughts on “Motherhood Award

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Cats | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank My Dogs, Husband, Friends, and All Benign Deities | SERENDIPITY

  3. Pingback: Best in Show: A Mommy Award | jennifermarshcurtis

  4. Pingback: I’d Sacrifice My Gut For You | Molly Greye

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt:I’d like to Thank My Cats | Motherhood and Beyond

  6. Pingback: What if I received an award? | Okay, what if ?

  7. Pingback: Am I really going to answer today? | Rob's Surf Report

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I’d Like to Thank… | My Atheist Blog

Leave a Reply

