Laughter is the best medicine

Do you consider yourself funny? What role does humor play in your life? Who’s the funniest person you know?

Laughter is the best medicine. I really believe that. When you’re down in the dumps and everything just puts you off, a good laugh can do wonders. I don’t consider myself a funny person, I can be quite serious most of the time but occasionally I do get the odd comment “Oh you’re too funny!”

Some people manage to see the lighter side of things even in serious situations. When a doctor told my grandmother that with every cigarette she smokes she lessens her life by 5 minutes, she remarked “I’d rather have the cigarette than the 5 minutes!”

I read somewhere that seeing someone smile stimulates your brain with pleasure the same as eating 2,000 chocolate bars or receiving $25,000 cash. Well if I get the cash I’ll be smiling all the way to the bank!

My husband is away during the week as his job takes him to another country but when he comes back it’s really funny to see my son with him. It’s like a mix of a wrestling match, karate and a tickling session.

These days it’s my son who keeps me laughing:

We were talking about how Bollywood (Indian) movies have songs and dances. When my son heard this he said excitedly “I also know an Indian song, ‘One little, two little, three little Indians, four little, five little, six little Indians….'”

Another time I asked him to explain his naughtiness, “What are you doing??” I said. “I’m doing what I’m doing!” is the cheeky reply I got.

At school he was learning about the five senses. “The eyes are for seeing, the nose is for smelling, the ears are for listening, the hands are for touching…” “And what is the tongue for?” I asked. “For sticking out!” he answered.

Not wanting to go to school one day, he told our maid, “You can go to school, I’ll clean the house!”

Life is just so colorful with him around.

And now for some pingbacks…

  1. When my granny was young | Bright Moments Catcher
  2. Be my guest! | Agrifun.com
  3. Bzebza is digging his garden. August 2013 | Bright Moments Catcher
  4. Paper Camera App by JFDP Labs | Bright Moments Catcher
  5. Picking Flowers | Bright Moments Catcher
  6. What’s going on? | Bright Moments Catcher
  7. Boys, what are you looking at… | Bright Moments Catcher
  8. Rural Russia. Russian Village Street Photography | Bright Moments Catcher
  9. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | View From The Third eye
  10. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Under the Monkey Tree
  11. I tried cooking my sister | Improving Slowly
  12. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha 26|8 | familyphotosfoodcraft.com
  13. Even CA could be funny at times-II | A few handpicked things in life
  14. Childhood Funny Words: Daily Prompt | alienorajt
  15. Funny… who me? | The Rider
  16. chipmunk (Clever) | photo potpourri
  17. Is it not funny? | Eccentric Lady
  18. Maybe, sometimes, always. | Phelio a Random Post a Day
  19. Fun with the cops 😉 | A few handpicked things in life
  20. I Never Said I Was Funny, I Simply Agreed | JuSt ViSiTiNG THiS PLaNeT…
  21. Not Really Laughing | Tony’s Texts
  22. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | littlegirlstory
  23. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | DCMontreal
  24. Daily Prompt: Clever | Books, Music, Photography & Movies : my best friends
  25. Funny How? [Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha] | unknowinglee
  26. Not so funny ha ha as funny, what?! | thoughtsofrkh
  27. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Purple Rosemary
  28. Only joking! | Sue’s Trifles
  29. A Fine Line Between Clever And Stupid. | The Ambitious Drifter
  30. The Difference Between Funny And Humor | The Jittery Goat
  31. Daily Prompt: Clever | The Lint In My Pocket
  32. On women being crazy | vicbriggs’s Blog
  33. Making Fun | Joan T. Warren
  34. She Thinks She’s Very Clever | Andante Cantabile
  35. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Vagabond
  36. 152. The Clever One | kevindeisher
  37. What is funny? Am I funny? | jennifermarshcurtis
  38. Fish On! Oh Yeeeaahhhhhhhh Baby!!! | Honey Did you See that?
  39. Daily Post-A Blonde Walks Into A Bar… | readingwithafeather
  40. Not Funny | Mind of a Mouse
  41. Daily Prompt: I am One of the Funniest People I Know | One Starving Activist
  42. Duncan the Sushi Roll #3 | Neva Samaki
  43. The face of feminism | vicbriggs’s Blog
  44. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss
  45. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Basically Beyond Basic
  46. Too Clever | clarior e tenebris
  47. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | My Atheist Blog
  48. Mirth. | Hope* the happy hugger
  49. “Funny Ha-Ha” | Relax
  50. Walking Into Dreamland | Anchors Aweigh
  51. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | ModrenHippieMom
  52. We’re Not Carrying That Line Any More | Dad’s Political Cartoon Scrapbook 1939 to 1940
  53. Avoid Being An Unprofessional Interviewer | Anchors Aweigh
  54. Daily Prompt: Leave em’ laughing! | SERENDIPITY
  55. Everyday Adventures
  56. I don’t try to be, but……. | djgarcia94
  57. Funny | suzie81’s Blog
  58. Humour? Hmmm.. | Notes from a gay mentalist
  59. A Face In The Crowd | Cheri Speak
  60. WHITE LIES, WHOOPERS, PANTS ON FIRE LIES | Emotional Fitness
  61. Smiles Are More Flattering Than Frowns (Daily Prompt: Ha-ha) | Running with Reality
  62. LAUGH Build your emotional fitness. | Emotional Fitness
  63. AN APPLE A DAY, OR STOP LOOKING AT MY BREASTS! | Standing Ovation, Seated
  64. I Can Haz Funnies! | Stuphblog
  65. Funny Ha Ha | Real Life Co.
  66. Little things and spare pictures | Life is great
  67. Daily LOL | Life & Times
  68. Quizzical | Spunky Wayfarer
  69. Sometimes even I’m speechless | The Nameless One
  70. Cat on a Hot Wood Shelf – Istagram Picture | alternative.reality
  71. Mr Funny Ha Ha || Short Fiction | Mind My Mind But…
  72. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha » My Life, My Way, My Words
  73. Daily Prompt: Ha Ha Funny-My Father’s Daughter | For the Love of Images
  74. How Does the Moon Cut His Hair? | floatingsheep
  75. A serious discussion of funny… | I Might Ramble
  76. Daily Prompt:Funny Ha-Ha | Motherhood and Beyond
  77. The transcendence of humor | A Girl with a Piano
  78. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | The Blogging Path
  79. That’s a Fly Swatter, Not a Spatula | So I Went Undercover
  80. Breaking news: Humor blogs are actually supposed to be funny- Customer appreciation post | The not really news blog
  81. Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Heron There & Everywhere
  82. Wear your Flip Flops | A Day in the Life
  83. Funny as Feck! | The Geeky G4mer
  84. A Ridiculous Me…wp daily prompt | Daily Observations
  85. Am I really all that funny? | Rob’s Surf Report
  86. The Classic Clown | My OCD Diaries
  87. Make Your Own Damn Sandwich | Molly Greye
  88. What if I could make you laugh? | Okay, what if ?
  89. Kids Say the Funniest Things | Heart Healthy Beats
  90. Make ‘Em Laugh | My [redacted] Journey
  91. Funny “Ha-ha” – daily prompt | Lynne McAennyl
  92. Dance Monkey! | Baby Gates Down
  93. Funny Girl in Writing | Virginia Views
  94. Wanna Hear a Joke? | The Amazing May
  95. The jester | Legends of Lorata

14 thoughts on “Laughter is the best medicine

  1. I love it when kids say the most funniest things without even realising it, in their own sweet innocent way. It always brings a smile.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Funny Ha-Ha | My Atheist Blog

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Leave em’ laughing! | SERENDIPITY

  5. Pingback: A Face In The Crowd | Cheri Speak

  6. Pingback: I Can Haz Funnies! | Stuphblog

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt:Funny Ha-Ha | Motherhood and Beyond

  8. Pingback: That’s a Fly Swatter, Not a Spatula | So I Went Undercover

  9. Pingback: Am I really all that funny? | Rob's Surf Report

  10. Pingback: Make Your Own Damn Sandwich | Molly Greye

  11. Pingback: Laughing at Me | Natasha's Memory Garden

Leave a Reply

